Little Pea Makes the Jump to Old Trafford

Given Gio dos Santos less than stellar stay in English football and Carlos Vela’s pine-riding tenure at Arsenal, I’m developing a wait-and-see attitude towards Manchester United’s surprise signing of emerging Mexican striker Javier “El Chicharito” Hernandez.

For some reason the English game has not treated my countrymen well, though naturalized Mexican, Guille Franco, has found some success with West Ham.

That said, hopefully Chicharito (little pea) will have a meaningful impact at Old Trafford. He has had a torrid season with his current club, Chivas and has bedazzled while donning our country’s colors.

In a recent piece in the Telegraph, Chicharito expressed his feelings regarding the signing,

“I got goose-bumps when I realized I would be joining Manchester United. These are the things you dream about. I longed for a move to Europe when I was a kid watching lots of football on tv.”

He also made some comments comparing English football and Mexican football,

“Football in England is more developed than it is in Mexico and the culture of the country means that the football is more about playing fair and honestly. Everyone is doing their best to make sure you get good football on the pitch. I like that.”

While he may take some heat from our countrymen for these comments, I couldn’t agree more. I have watched more Mexican fútbol in my lifetime than I have EPL but it is clearly evident that the flopping endemic in the former is frowned up on in the latter, as it should be.

As an aside, someting in the article rubbed me the wrong way,

Hernandez speaks good English and studies for a degree in business administration in his spare time, so there were no issues with his character.

So let me get this straight, the marks of a good character are:

1) The ability to speak “good English”
2) Acquiring a degree

Huh?

Maybe “character” has a different meaning in the UK than it does here in the States.

One Response to Little Pea Makes the Jump to Old Trafford

  1. Pingback: One Mexican’s World Cup Primer

Leave a Reply

