Landon Donovan to Club América? ¡Guau!

Whether or not this even has a chance of becoming reality remains to be seen, but Greg Lalas of Sports Illustrated makes the case for it here, Why Donovan could join the enemy.

Here’s Landon Donovan depicting America’s role in WW II…

Donovan
My buddy… My buddy and me.

In all seriousness, I think Lalas makes a good case for Landon joining las Águilas del America, given the precarious perch they find themselves in right now, on the brink of relegation.

Personally, I’d love to see what a world-class player like Donovan brings to a tradition-laden side like C.A. I’d also love to see how he’d be treated by the rabid fan base in México City. He is the proverbial thorn in México’s side.

Hopefully they would treat him better than they did last week, when idiotic fans threw various things at him as he prepared to take a corner kick. Seriously folks, boo the man, hiss at him but why hurl projectiles (among other things) at him?

As in most realms in the sporting world, if he joins C.A. and the team starts dominating, I think the fans will warm up to him. The fact he speaks Spanish wouldn’t hurt him either.

That being said, when Donovan suits up for the Stars and Stripes, all club allegiances dissipate and I would expect nothing less from my countrymen than a rabid antagonism.

Especially when memories like this are seared into the collective memories of all fans of my beloved Tricolor,

Landon Donovan

Leave a Reply

