Politics

Given the current (not to mention hopelessly stagnant) political climate in this nation, it seemed good to share the views (on politics) of two of my favorite columnists.

First up is noted sports columnist Jason Whitlock, who in this column, penned the following (emphasis mine),

Let me make one thing clear: I am neither Republican nor Democrat, liberal nor conservative. I abhor politics because of its inherent untruthfulness. I have never participated in the political process. Never. I don’t share that with a great deal of pride. I’ve just found it impossible to participate in a process that is directly opposed to truth.

Then there is this random thought from distinguished economist and author Thomas Sowell (emphasis mine),

Human beings are going to make mistakes, whether in the market or in the government. The difference is that survival in the market requires recognizing mistakes and changing course before you go bankrupt. But survival in politics requires denying mistakes and sticking with the policies you advocated, while blaming others for the bad results.

What do you think about their words?

5 Responses to Politics

  1. Luke says:

    I like Whitlock alot and I know that he’s committed to the truth in his profession, but I fail to see how he is helping the situation by refusing to participate in the political process. At the very least he could write in a truthful candidate, regardless of the improbability of their success.

    I couldn’t check out the rest of his column because the link didn’t work, but I’m firmly of the opinion that people who don’t work to make the system better have no room at the table for complaining about the system. (I’m not sure if he did this in his column, but that’s where it seemed like it was going).

    Sowell = The Man. He just makes so much sense, 99.9% of the time. I trust him and Dave Ramsey to speak truth to the economic issues of the day.

  2. pastorbreeze says:

    sounds good! you’ll be a sectarian fideistic tribalist before you know it. 😉

  3. kris says:

    Sowell has it right…

    Whittlock needs to see things a bit differently, in my opinion. non involvement is involvement in and of itself. by doing or saying nothing…you fall into the deviation of the statistics of one side or the other. why not have your voice heard on the side you wish instead of just being a statistical variable.

  4. pastorbreeze says:

    sorry i think my link actually works now. : (

  5. Laz says:

    Luke:
    Sorry about the link, not sure why Fox Sports took off his archive. Not sure if Whitlock was complaining about the system per se, but I agree with what Kris said about his participation. Tom Clancy said something similar (through one of his characters), “The absence of politics is a political statement.”

    I do agree with Whitlock that politics is based on image/spin control whatever you want to call it. On the whole, the entire enterprise (not talking about individuals) seems to based on distortion of truth. You can probably throw in public relations into that same bin, but I digress.

    JB:
    Did you mean your blog to be private? As for s.f.t, perhaps you can explain that to me more in detail next time we grab some coffee.

    Kris:
    Maybe Whitlock is disgusted with the political process.

Leave a Reply

