Taquerías Arandas Goes Mainstream

When someone asks me to point them towards good Mexican food, naturally I refer to my mother’s home cooking (being a purist, I hear good and think authentic). However since my mom might not be thrilled to have total strangers come to her door, instead I refer folks to Taquerías Arandas.

While the fare offered at Tex-Mex joints (Pappasito’s et al) delights the palate, I’m afraid that for the most part it is not authentic Mexican food. Well it’s as authentic as Pei Wei is authentic Chinese food.

The reason I bring up my favorite eatery is this: So I’m listening to ESPN 97.5 FM The Ticket, a local sports radio station, and during commercial they went to their sports ticker/update thing. And guess who was the sponsor? Yep that’s right, Taquerías Arandas.

You know that a long-standing stalwart of Houston’s Mexican community has gone mainstream when it is sponsoring stuff on English-speaking radio, not to mention pays for a huge ad inside Reliant Stadium. May I also add, that you know it has gone mainstream when an American friend of mine, who hails from the heartland, decides to try out my favorite thing on the menu (below) and totally digs it.

By the way, these are no ordinary tacos, they’re (wait for it) beef tongue tacos.

5 Responses to Taquerías Arandas Goes Mainstream

  1. katdish says:

    Ah, animal innards and the love of same in authentic Mexican cuisine! This post took me back a few years. My mom was deli manager of the Fiesta store in Spring Branch. I remember visiting her at the store, touring the meat cases full of the decapitated heads and internal organs of various and sundry farm animals whilst enjoying the strong aroma of chihuahua cheese wafting from the deli department accompanied by the sounds of mariachi music being drowned out by my mom lecturing her employees to speak English in a heavy Japanese accent. Good times…good times.

  2. Laz says:

    Hey Kathy good to hear from you again. You can definitely count on Fiesta’s meat dept. for all sorts of goodies.

    That’s a great story about your mom!

  3. kris says:

    i am very adventurous when it comes to food , but the visual of tongue, i don’t know if i could do it…

    kw

  4. Laz says:

    The trick is not to dwell too much on what you’re eating, though tongue isn’t too bad. Like steak, it’s just another muscle.

    Menudo, however, is a completely different story…

  5. JP says:

    Dude, I so miss this place! Not as much as I miss hanging out with you and Micheal there. Take care – JP

Leave a Reply

