Who Needs Milk When You Can Have Coke?

It’s sad to read about the tainted milk in China which has resulted in the the death of 4 infants and the poisoning of thousands of children (“Milk off shelves as China’s safety scandal grows”).

Fortunately in México this would never be a problem. Why? Because we are bottle-fed Coca-Cola at a very early age and in some cases the liquid crack has replaced milk as the beverage of choice for most escuincles.

Don’t worry, Mexican Coke (above, pic source: SFoodie) is not the dentist’s dream that American Coke is for one very simple reason. Whereas American Coke is made with corn syrup, the Mexican variant is made with cane sugar. I understand that makes all the difference in the Western Hemisphere, especially in taste (this is one of the few things my Fatherland does better than my adoptive land).

I can fondly remember my dear mother exulting in the fact that she didn’t give us Kool-Aid because of its high sugar content. To back her decision up she would lament that her Kool-Aid-swilling nieces had dental work that rivaled that of famous Bond villain, Jaws (right)

All the while the dear woman let the 3 of us have a free run at the Coke products (Orange Joya rocks). Coca-Cola was an integral part of my childhood (not to mention part of our balanced breakfast), and thus it is not surprising to find that it remains an integral part of my adult life.

Except that for most of my life I’ve been drinking the solvent that passes as Coca-Cola here in the States.

So thanks Mom for your introduction to addictive non-alcoholic beverages. To her credit, not one of her 3 children ever had to get a ‘silver’ chiclet.

Mother indeed, knows best…

4 Responses to Who Needs Milk When You Can Have Coke?

  1. Andrew says:

    Joya is the best! Is there anyway to get that stuff in the states? I’ve never been able to find any.

  2. Laz says:

    Andrew, thanks for your comment.

    As for Joya’s availability, I haven’t seen it here in the States. I’ve seen other Mexican soft drinks but not Joya.

    Must be some contractual hold up…

  3. Andrew says:

    Yeah we’ve bought Barillitos (I think that’s the name) at Wal-Mart a few times, but it’s just not quite a Joya.

    Funny story… I was coming back through customs from Mexico a few years back and the customs official asked me if I was bringing anything back. I told him I was bringing a Joya back with me. He suddenly got a serious look on his face and in a Mexican accent asked me, “Do you know what Joya means in Spanish?” I nodded my head in ignorance. He said, “Joya is Spanish for ‘jewel’. Are you bringing any jewels with you?” I was like, “No, no, no, of course not. Joya the drink.” The look on his face immediately goes from serious to a devious gotcha’ grin, and he says, “Ok, go ahead.”

  4. Laz says:

    Yeah the mandarin Barrilitos comes close but it is definitely not Joya.

    Had it been Mexican customs he might have sought to liberate the jewels from your keep.

Leave a Reply

