Do We All Owe Merrill Hoge an Apology?

The Vince Young saga has been a hot topic here in Houston sports radio. To be honest, VY has been a topic since the Houston Texans decided not to draft the local product. That decision seems to have been the wise one given the fact that right now, Mario Williams seems to be a better NFL player.

I still think the Texans should have nabbed Young, but I say that as a myopic (literally) and unashamed Longhorn honk (that would have made me an instant Texans fan, to this day I refuse to drink the battle red Kool-Aid).

Right now, not only does VY not look like an NFL quarterback on the field, he is beginning to carry that off the field (he’s acting like a wide receiver there but that’s another topic).

It’s not a good sign when a grown man’s mom basically tells the media to back off her “baby boy” and starts throwing words around like “persecute”.

Heck, I’m waiting for Coach Fisher to go off on a Gundyian rant (“Come after me, I’m a man, I’m 50!”) Fisher would first put on a tutu and try out for the Kirov Ballet before doing that.

Lost in all this, has anyone asked a seemingly prophetic Merrill Hoge (below) about Vince Young lately? Remember Hoge took some major heat (especially from this knucklehead) during Young’s first NFL season for speaking disparagingly about Vince’s NFL potential.

“I hate to say I told you so, but I told you so”

[Insert joke about Titans hiding quarterbacks here]

Also lost in all this, is the inability of former stud offensive Longhorns football players (Ricky Williams, Cedric Benson, Kwame Cavil and now VY) to adjust to NFL life.

Is Mack a better master coddler than master recruiter? Hey, speaking of former Longhorns, how about LSU-killer Chris Simms and VY on the same team? What? They couldn’t give noted Red Raider Slayer Chance Mock a shot?

3 Responses to Do We All Owe Merrill Hoge an Apology?

  1. The Zoner says:

    Laz– don’t know if you heard it or not but Hoge was ripping VY again on some radio station. I have it at my blog if you are interested.

    I watched Jeff Fisher play for the Bears as a kid. If he ever leaves Tenn. I guarantee he’s welcome here!

  2. Laz says:

    I imagine Mr. Hoge is quite the smug bug right about now.

    Fisher is probably bent that Carroll has built a legacy at USC, which prevents him from having any aspirations to coach at his alma mater.

  3. Point Guard: Baron Davis Davis has been one of the best point guards over the last ten years. So far in 615 games played, he has averaged 17.1 points, 7.2 assists, 4 rebounds and 1.9 steals per game… Davis has been one of the best

Leave a Reply

