Who’s on First? Pearl Jam

Having been a huge fan of Pearl Jam during my em, formative years I gained an appreciation for who appears to be lead singer Ed Vedder’s main influence, The Who.

Ran across Ed and the Boys covering a couple of Who classics (Love Reign O’er Me and The Real Me, both from the album Quadrophenia) for some VH1 show.

Their rendition of The Real Me is probably one of the best covers (unoriginal, for original see Cornell’s rendition of “Billie Jean”) that I’ve heard.

PJ bassist Jeff Ament’s masterful imitation of Entwhistle’s lead bassin’ is flawless (that Ament cannot remain glued to one spot on the stage, as Entwhistle did, is another matter).

Perhaps the best part of the whole thing is guitarist Stone Gossard trying to get his loosegroove on.

Stone is so unhip that he’s hip. When his less famous band, Brad, came to H-town I went to check it out and was mildy pleased.  Though I felt bad for the poor guy and his bandmates.

They had to endure requests to play Pearl Jam classics like “Jeremy”, “Evenflow” and “Yellow Ledbetter”.

They didn’t wince too badly, I’m sure they were used to it.

3 Responses to Who’s on First? Pearl Jam

  1. craig says:

    I am a big fan of Pearl Jam. I saw Eddie Vedder at a hotel I was working at during my high school years. It was exciting. I never been to their concert, but would like to. I did see Stone Temple Pilots in May. They sounded ok, but Scott Weiland is why too weird. I assume it is the drugs.

  2. Laz says:

    PJ puts on a great show

  3. familygal says:

    They’re great live. As wonderful a performance the VH1 show was, seeing them live is even better.

Leave a Reply

