Is Christian Music Sissy?

I understand that this is a bit dated but the “inspiration” (no not theopneustos but maybe anthropneustos?) comes from the Nov 05 2007 issue of ESPN the Magazine.

In this publication there is a section (“For Love or the Game”) where questions are asked of a famous athletes’ significant other and of a buddy of said athlete to see who knows him/her best.

In this particular issue the athlete in question was Colorado Rockies’ star, Matt Holliday. The interviewees were his wife Leslee and his teammate Garrett Atkins.

Leslee won the face off, but of more relevance to this post was one of the questions asked: What is Matt’s favorite CD?

Leslee answered with this,

He likes Scott Stapp. We’re both Christian, but it’s hard to find that kind of music that isn’t sissy.

Having a natural dislike for Creed, my first response was, “What, Stapp doesn’t churn out sissy music?”.

But does Mrs. Holliday have a point? Is it hard to find so-called Christian music that isn’t “sissy”?

6 Responses to Is Christian Music Sissy?

  1. katdish says:

    There are plenty of so-called Christian artists that I would not consider “sissy”. However, I detest songs that are written for the express purpose of pulling on our emotional heartstrings. Case in point: “Christmas Shoes”, “Jesus take the Wheel”, “Butterfly Kisses”, the list goes on…

    The effect on me is the opposite of what I believe is their intent. My reactions range from mild eye rolling to involuntary retching. But maybe that’s just me…

  2. Laz says:

    Involuntary retching, lol…

    I’m not sure what she meant by “sissy”, perhaps she referred to the high whine factor in much “Christian” music. To be fair, analogous “secular” music also has a high whine factor.

    Or perhaps given that her husband is an athlete who has to work out, she was referring to the topic of this post,
    #41. Making music that is impossible to exercise to.

  3. katdish says:

    wow – that scl post goes way back! Honestly, is there any Christian music that you can work out to? Maybe there’s some Christian “rap” out there that you could work up a sweat to — but seriously, Christian rap epitomizes what bugs me about Christian culture in general. “Let’s be just like the world, only different!” I understand we have to be in the world but not of the world, but we often imitate secular culture in an attempt to woo them away from the dark side.

    Jesus never used the soft sell. He was outrageous. He spoke the Truth with no holes barred. We should imitate Christ, not pop culture. (I’m not suggesting that we ignore culture — many things glorify God, even if His glory is not their intent.)

  4. Laz says:

    Isn’t there some Christian 80s music? When leg warmers were all the rage, were Christian artists churning out music with their synths and keytars?

    Did you say Soft Cell? Is there a Christian version of “Tainted Love”? I’m not sure Jesus would approve.

    Speaking of which, what does Jesus think of the syrupy goodness that is Christian radio? (our own KSBJ is a prime example, I need to send them my dentist bill)

  5. iworshiphere says:

    there’s a variety out there..Spirit West coast holds a pretty good selection. i found out they’ll be playing at Spirit West Coast this weekend, can view it for free at this site: iworshiphere.com

  6. kimita says:

    As syrupy as pop Christian music may be, I would much rather my kids listen to Christian radio/songs with uplifting, positive, truthful messages about loving God, praising God, purity, waiting for heaven, etc. than secular music which MOSTLY speaks about negative (yet many current and controversial) issues, focuses on impure relationships, violence, anger, uses bad language. Yes, I do realize there are exceptions but I’m speaking “for the most part.”

    Teens and Christian teens today practically cannot live without their music, most of which is secular, and I’ve seen the negative effects that has had on their lives (feelings of hopelessness, apathy, anger, hostility, etc.) Of course I realize that there’s a deeper issue than just the music (their lack of desire for God and hunger for His word) but the music doesn’t help.

    Christian radio may not be the first choice among many adults (I mostly listen to my Christian CDs) but its songs with messages of hope and focus on Christ, for the most part, are what I want my kids listening to.

Leave a Reply

