Stellar Racism: Black Holes and Brown Dwarfs

Recently, a Dallas county commissioner Kenneth Mayfield (melanin expression: low) used the term “black hole” to describe a bureaucracy in the county, to which another commissioner, John Wiley Price (melanin expression: higher), objected and corrected his esteemed colleague by saying that the bureaucracy was a “white hole”.

The presiding judge, Thomas Jones (melanin expression: higher) demanded an apology from Mayfield for his “racially insensitive analogy”. You can read the story here, Dallas County officials spar over ‘black hole’ comment

Now, most people know what a black hole is. One may form when a large star explodes and provided there’s enough mass, voila ! (correct me as deemed necessary).

It’s an astronomical term with no racial undertones, it appears that Mr. Wiley and Mr. Jones are not guilty of PC policing but of ignorance. I’m not sure which is worse, I’ll leave that to the peanut gallery.

For my part, I’m Mexican and vertically-challenged so can I roll with Wiley and Jones’ outrage when I hear the astronomical term, brown dwarf?

Now that I think about it, brown dwarf is pretty offensive. I’m suing astronomy, the corpses of Galileo, Kepler, Brahe, Copernicus, and Gene Roddenberry. Why stop there? We’ll go after NASA, JPL, the European Space Agency, Jill Tarter (the hegemonic and oppressive xenophobe who coined the phrase) and George Lucas (maybe I can recover the money I’ve spent on his Star Wars brand through the years).

Where’s Jackie Chiles when you need him?

6 Responses to Stellar Racism: Black Holes and Brown Dwarfs

  1. chunque says:

    “For my part, I’m Mexican and vertically-challenged so can I roll with Wiley and Jones’ outrage when I hear the astronomical term, brown dwarf?”

    Sure! D-bag it up!

    http://www.stuffwhitedbagslike.wordpress.com

    Apparently my attempt at levity, once again, sailed o’erhead. Is it my delivery? –Laz

  2. j razz says:

    I understood it just fine. Great post- odd how offense is taken when none is given.

    j razz

  3. How ridiculous.

    I loved the eighth comment on the news story site, posted by “The Commish.”

  4. Kim Pina says:

    hahahahahaha jackie chiles!!! hahahaha 🙂

  5. KW says:

    it is a sad commentary of our society. it is so sad it is funny.

    kw

  6. Job says:

    We black folk just get sensitive over the fact that everything negative is associated with being black. Black death. Black plague. Black Monday (or Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday, Friday … anything when anything bad happens). And so on. It really does get tiresome. I can tell that a lot of us folks came away from those “Lord of the Rings” movies thinking that J.R. R. Tolkein didn’t much enjoy the time that he spent in Africa as a child 🙂 (Yes, I know that the third Tolkein book contained a polemic against the exploitation and colonization of Africa, I am talking about how it made folks feel is all.) However, that is no excuse for behaving foolishly, as they clearly did in this case.

Leave a Reply

