The Legend of Sloth

Our 2-year old son thoroughly enjoys watching “Go Diego Go” a spinoff of Nickelodeon’s Dora the Explorer. I’d like to think that he enjoys the show because of its deliberate attempt to introduce youngsters to some of the more exotic of God’s creatures.

The particular DVD he watches repeatedly features such South American luminaries as the maned wolf, pygmy marmoset, spectacled bear, Andean condor and last but not least the 3-toed sloth (below).

National Geographic

As a lad, my infatuation was with animals of the African Savannah due in large part to a book given to me by my folks. A book which in lieu of a ‘blankie’ or other such pacifier, I took with me everywhere I went and wore out until the binding came off.

All this to call attention to a story about sloths and the misconception that they completely and thoroughly live up to their name.

Sloth’s Lazy Image ‘A Myth’

I wonder what God thinks about us naming one of His creatures after one of the so-called 7 deadly sins…

One Response to The Legend of Sloth

  1. Pingback: El hermoso perezoso « pequeños enrollados

Leave a Reply

