Did Martin Luther change Diapers?

With the gender role brouhaha that this post spawned, it seemed good to link up this post from the folks over at “The Silent Holocron” (gotta love the obscure Star Wars reference),

Changing Diapers to the Glory of God”

In the post you’ll find a lengthy quote from one Martin Luther which I think relevant to the discussion.

What the man’s attitude should be (according to Luther) in regards to the so-called drudgeries of fatherhood,

O God, because I am certain that thou hast created me as a man and hast from my body begotten this child, I also know for a certainty that it meets with thy perfect pleasure. I confess to thee that I am not worthy to rock the little babe or wash its diapers, or to be entrusted with the care of the child and its mother. How is it that I, without any merit, have come to this distinction of being certain that I am serving thy creature and thy most precious will? O how gladly will I do so, though the duties should be even more insignificant and despised. Neither frost nor heat, neither drudgery nor labour, will distress or dissuade me, for I am certain that it is thus pleasing in thy sight.

Then the woman’s to the so-called drudgeries of motherhood,

A wife too should regard her duties in the same light, as she suckles the child, rocks and bathes it, and cares for it in other ways; and as she busies herself with other duties and renders help and obedience to her husband. These are truly golden and noble works. . . .

On a personal note, I once was that guy that proclaimed “Never will I change a diaper” only to do it (happily I might add, though I’ve been slacking as of late) after our son was born.

Prior to witnessing our son’s birth I admired my wife for her beauty, her wit, and her mind. Afterwards said admiration grew exponentially for reasons which words cannot express.

3 Responses to Did Martin Luther change Diapers?

  1. JT says:

    I have a five week old daughter, and I never thought I would be changing diapers either, but you are exactly right: It is a blessing to get to do so, not a burden.

    Thanks for always being a beacon of light in a dark, dark vast wasteland of internet.

  2. Laz says:

    Indeed JT, thanks for your readership and your kind words.

Leave a Reply

