Dr. Z: Thanks for the free Houston Chronicle

I live approximately 26 miles from where I work. Not just any 26 miles but 26 miles worth of ghastly Houston traffic which has the potential (if one so chooses) to shorten anyone’s lifespan.

Thankfully, I have the option to use public transportation to get to and from work. That in so doing it reduces my so-called carbon footprint is not my motivation, I just as well not sit in Houston traffic thank you very much.

While I can do a number of posts on the different folks which ride the bus, this post is dedicated to an elderly gent who I call (not to him of course) “Dr. Z” due to his semblance to Dieter Zetsche, Chairman of Daimler-Chrysler (pictured below)
dr-z.jpg

This gentleman brings a paper to read on the bus and due in part to his lack of consideration for the driver (who has to clean the bus) leaves his Houston Chronicle behind when he disembarks.

Me being the opportunist that I am, pick up his discarded paper so I can bring it into work so my co-workers and I can have something to read during lunch. Of course the paper being the paper will spur all sorts of interesting discussions on current events, worldviews and most importantly sports. The fact that it helps the driver out is icing on the proverbial cake.

So thanks Dr. Z for your “generosity”!

3 Responses to Dr. Z: Thanks for the free Houston Chronicle

  1. Neil Aquino says:

    Why not be glad it does reduce your carbon footprint?

    Is it possible the man leaves the paper behind because he figures someone else can read it?

  2. Laz says:

    Neil,
    I didn’t say I wasn’t glad (however insignificant the effect might be), it just isn’t my primary motive.

    My primary motive for taking the bus is avoiding the traffic native to our fair city and the numerous opportunities therein to take the Lord’s name in vain.

    Yes it’s very possible “Dr. Z” does indeed do so for that reason, perhaps I’ll thank him next time I see him.

  3. Neil Aquino says:

    I commute half an hour each way each day. It’s not ideal in some respects, but I have listened to many books on tape and I do enjoy the time alone.

Leave a Reply

