Texas 17, Virginia 16

tex-virginia.jpg

Yes I know this ticket stub has seen better days, it suffered at the hands of an overzealous gate person.

We recently moved and as it sometimes happens you find stuff you forgot you had.

I found a bag of old ticket stubs from events I attended in years past. I scanned them and hope to create a series of posts.

This one is from my freshman year at Texas from a game which the ‘Horns won on a last second 50 yard field goal (against a treacherous Central Texas wind) as time expired by Phil Dawson (now with the Cleveland Browns).

This was my first thrill of many as a UT fan. This game also marked the first and last time I attended a UT football game alone, though after Dawson’s kick cleared the uprights I hugged a lot of people I didn’t know and probably never saw again at UT.

Notice the ticket price, anyone know how much this type of ticket would fetch now?

2 Responses to Texas 17, Virginia 16

  1. Jason says:

    I WAS THERE!!!! MY Junior year….what an awesome game!!! I was on the student’s side on the south end at about the goal line. The ball hung in the air forever! I can still see it. What a game.

    $20 for a ticket? Man I feel old.

  2. Laz says:

    I was in the horseshoe so I got to see Dawson’s kick heading towards my section.

    Do you know how much tickets are now?

Leave a Reply

