Fred Phelps at Columbia University?

pres-adhmad.jpgfredphelps.jpg Two of a kind and working on a full house

I wonder if Columbia University would give Fred Phelps a forum to share his misguided, self-righteous and hate-filled views.

One would assume so, since they let President Mahmoud “In Iran, we don’t have homosexuals, like in your country” Ahmadinejad hold court there.

Based on the hatred which Phelps holds to and publicly asserts, one wonders if Iran’s policies towards homosexuals are Phelps’ dreams come true?

I post this with the knowledge that there are many who, out of ignorance, emotionalism, or what have you, assume Fred Phelps and his “church” represent all folks who take the Bible seriously, that is believe it to be the Word of God, and thus acknowledge that homosexuality is a sin (Old and New Testaments.)

As General Pace found out, watch out when you make this position clear.

Yes it is possible to say something is a sin (i.e. hypocrisy) and yet love those who are habitually hypocritical or fall into hypocrisy from time to time. It’s called “hate the sin not the sinner.”

I’m afraid this phrase is much reviled by some who don’t understand or accept its plausibility but a moment’s reflection will yield that we are more familiar with the practice of this than we’d like to admit.

CS Lewis wrote in Mere Christianity,

For a long time I used to think this a silly, straw-splitting distinction: how could you hate what a man did and not hate the man? But years later it occurred to me that there was one man to whom I had been doing this all my life–namely myself. However much I might dislike my own cowardice or conceit or greed, I went on loving myself. There had never been the slightest difficulty about it. In fact the very reason why I hated the things was that I loved the man.

5 Responses to Fred Phelps at Columbia University?

  1. osipov says:

    from what I can read, the U.S. and U.K. are the gay “leaders” of the world.

  2. Neil Aquino says:

    Let them all talk. It can’t hurt to listen. You learn when you listen.

  3. Laz says:

    Agreed Neil. It’s only fair that all points be heard.

  4. Steve says:

    Columbia University claims they are America’s best and brightest?

    Did you see the way they applauded Ahmadenijad?

    They are just a bunch of filthy Little Eichmanns.

    Too bad that Cho Seung-hui didn’t go to Columbia University!

Leave a Reply

