Colt McCoy’s Confusion after Texas beats TCU

I was glad (within a sports context) that UT beat an upstart TCU squad. Well TCU was an upstart for at least one half of the this game, they had a 10-0 lead at halftime. The Horns pulled away in the second half, outscoring TCU 34-3 for a final score of 34-13.

Did not catch the game on TV (no cable service), but I was sneaking a listen on the radio, during breaks from more important pursuits.

After reading the story from the AP, “No. 7 Texas rallies to down TCU”, I was intrigued by a quote from UT quarterback Colt McCoy (pictured below)
colt-mccoy.jpg
Getty Images

This is what Colt said (in reference to his poor first half performance),

“You didn’t want to touch me in the second quarter, I had some bad luck there,” McCoy said. “I had Bible study the other morning (and) you’re going to get tested. You get tested, then you’re blessed.”

McCoy, who is born again, is not shy about giving credit to God for his talent and success. He did so on national television last year after beating OU.

While I am no theologian (not even an armchair one), I understand that luck doesn’t exist and thus does not decide anything. That much is clear in Scripture,

The lot is cast into the lap, But its every decision is from the LORD. — Proverbs 16:33

and according to a certain Soviet air force colonel , “Luck is for fools.”

At the risk of sounding like a camel-swallowing gnat-strainer, I also understand that sometimes Christians, though we should know better, use the word “luck” very flippantly as McCoy did, and yet do not mean anything contradictory to the Proverb. Care must be taken that we do not attribute our failure or success to luck (good or bad).
It does make one wonder, what/who it is that McCoy thinks is testing him? Bad luck or God? Or is being “blessed” the same thing as having “good luck”?

5 Responses to Colt McCoy’s Confusion after Texas beats TCU

  1. healtheland says:

    That’s better than CNN’s Nancy Grace, also a professed Christian, publicly saying that she didn’t tell anyone the sex of the child that she was carrying because “I am from South Georgia and we believe in hexes down there and everything.” But yeah, you are right, Christians need to replace the word “luck” with the word “providence” in our vocabulary. This coming from someone that oneness pentecostals, prosperity doctrinaires, and Word of Faithers accuse of being a camel swallowing gnat strainer (and far worse) all the time!

  2. Jason says:

    Isn’t he a sophomore? Thinking back to my theology as a sophomore at UT gives me shivers.

  3. Laz says:

    Thinking of my own experience while at Texas, you’ll get no argument there Jason, thanks for commenting.

  4. Scott says:

    Good point! Christ found me at the age of six…I’m 37 now and I must admit I’ve probably used that word “luck” more than I should. However, Look at the glorious truth here! Colt expresses his (God’s) mission after every game win or loose. That is to glorify God through his god-given talents. Compare that to most athletes today.

    Good luck…uh, I mean God bless! 🙂

  5. AustinSync says:

    Dear Laz:

    My name is Sylvia and I am a student at the Liberal Arts and Science Academy and we are currently working on our magazines in my Electronic Magazine class. My group’s magazine is about Austin and I really am impressed with your picture regarding Colt McCoy and was wondering if I could use it in my layout, with your permission, of course. Our magazines are not commercial and are for educational purposes only. If you would like to see how the picture would be used, I would love to send you a PDF of the designed page. If you are fine with this, please include how you would like me to reference your picture. If you are not the person to give me permission, could you please let me know who could help me?

    Please let me know at your earliest convenience.

    Sincerely,
    Sylvia

Leave a Reply

