What is Wrong with Eating Dogs?

On my way home from work today I tuned in to Michael Savage on KPRC to get my daily dose of angry white male, my goodness is that man angry. I’m sure he has his reasons, no? Like his counterparts on the other side of the spectrum have theirs. Is there a left Michael Savage?

Anyway, Savage was rambling about people in China and Korea who eat dogs. He described these cultures as ‘barbaric’ based on the fact that they eat dog. I know Dr. Savage has a dog who he loves very much, in fact he talks about the creature almost every day, so it did not surprise me to hear him so agitated. I’d understand his ire if the man was a vegan but he’s not.

He is aware of how much beef we consume here in the United States, isn’t he? What about pork? Chicken?

Why is eating dog barbaric but eating beef isn’t?

If anyone has a good reason outside of emotional attachment to your pet, please share it.

21 Responses to What is Wrong with Eating Dogs?

  1. dancingmoogle says:

    I don’t have any more objection to eating dogs than any other meat. The only other thing I can think of other than emotional attachement for not eating dog meat is the fact that they are scavangers who will eat anything. It would be up there with eating a buzzard. Living on a farm I saw what dogs will eat. Including their favorite cat box menu. I would eat dog if I was hungry, but I would have to be awful hungry.

  2. I don’t really have a problem with eating dogs either… although dancingmoogle does have a good point with what they eat.

    A similar thought runs with horse meat (but as far as I know they don’t eat things that are disgusting as a rule). I like horses and all, but in terms of food, I don’t see eating a horse much differently than I would eating another animal. It wouldn’t be my first choice since it’s a little outlandish and my taste buds aren’t accustomed to it, but to a starving person, food is food.

  3. Steve says:

    I just haven’t found any good recipes….

  4. Mick says:

    Dogs are very intelligent animals and have lived with humans in packs for some 100,000 years.
    They don’t provide much meat, but they are loving companions, watch dogs, trained as Seeing Eye dogs, and guides for humans.

    There are big differences between dogs and cattle raised to be beefy, slow and passive.

    Why not eat rats?

  5. Neil Aquino says:

    While I see Laz’s point, I go with Mick. We don’t eat dog because we don’t want to.

    Why do we care more for people we know than for strangers?

  6. Laz says:

    Mick,
    Why not eat rats indeed? Though, most folks (at least here in the States) aren’t emotionally attached to rats.

    I still see no difference between a dog and a cow, and it seems the ‘big differences’ are based on emotion more than anything else.

    Neil,
    It’s natural for us to care more for ours than we do for strangers. In other words, it is what we do naturally. Of course, Jesus calls those who call on His Name to a higher way,

    If you love those who love you, what credit is that to you? For even sinners love those who love them.

    If you do good to those who do good to you, what credit is that to you? For even sinners do the same.

    If you lend to those from whom you expect to receive, what credit is that to you? Even sinners lend to sinners in order to receive back the same amount.

    But love your enemies, and do good, and lend, expecting nothing in return; and your reward will be great, and you will be sons of the Most High; for He Himself is kind to ungrateful and evil men. — Luke 6:32-35

  7. Mick says:

    Why not eat aborted fetuses?

    They are a waste product in your opinion and you are not attached to them. They have good protein content.

  8. Laz says:

    Mick, are you equating animals with human beings? I never said aborted children were a ‘waste product’.

    So then what if a person wishes to be served up as the main course at his/her funeral?

    You OK with cannibalism? I’m not.

  9. healtheland says:

    Laz: Michael Savage is an atheist. Therefore, he rejects the notion that human beings are made in the image of God. That is why he is able to value the life of a dumb animal without a soul that will stand before God in jugdment one day over the life of innocent Iraqi “collateral damage.” This Michael Vick case is showing how far this nation has fallen. You have all of this outrage over how a person chooses to treat his property (which is what these dumb animals were) but none over abortion, or all of the people starving in the third world. If you reject the notion that God is the creator of all, nothing prevents you from equating a dead dog with an aborted fetus like Mick up there. And as a person who was known to frequent the lesser expensive Chinese food establishments in my college years (including one that was actually shut down by the county health department) I probably have personally eaten my share of dog, cat, and who knows what else. To me, this outrage over animals reminds me of Hindus that starve to death because they worship and refuse to eat cows, or jain Buddhists (which “Rev” Martin Luther King, Jr … who by the way did not believe in the deity, virgin birth, or resurrection of Jesus Christ … that is our modern “Christian” icon for you, even the religious right has co – opted him, co – opted) who center their lives around not stepping on bugs because they regard them as having the souls of reincarnated humans in them.

  10. Griffin says:

    Mick: Have you lost it? How this became an abortion/religion debate is beyond me. I don’t think that eating animals violates christianity (or any other religion) — so why bring it up? Same situation with abortion — eating animals is not the same as cannibalism, so your argument just proves that you’re an ass and you want to have the last word on everything.

    This is a discussion about whether or not you would eat a dog. Would I eat a dog? Sure, if there was nothing else to eat and I was in a position where I could not get food at all (i.e. starving). I understand why some cultures eat some types of animals and not others. It’s not always because one is necessarily sacred to that culture (or me), just that some animals are designated as “not food.”

    Veal falls into this category for me personally, as do pigeons, snakes, rats, hamsters, goldfish, horses, bugs, and carrion birds. Alligator doesn’t fall into this category (oddly) because I’ve already eaten alligator sausage once on a trip to New Orleans. And frankly, if I were starving and still managed to kill an alligator I’d be very proud of myself and would eat it. Same rule applies for lions, tigers and bears (oh my!)

    Everyone: Come on. Grow a sense of humor people!

  11. Carina says:

    You’re asking for a reason outside emotional attachment, but I’m not sure if there is one.

    I wouldn’t say that it is morally wrong or “barbaric” to eat any kind of meat (excepting, of course, in the case of cannibalism, which is obviously wrong). It is, however, disgusting to me to think of eating a dog or cat since I can think of lots of dogs and cats who I’ve pet, taken care of and loved. The more you treat an animal like a human– allowing it to eat and live in your home, loving it– the more “human” it seems to be. Whether it really loves you back or has emotional attachment back is debatable, of course, but it doesn’t nullify the fact that we in our Western culture feel more kindly towards some species of animals than others. Different cultures refuse to eat different things (pigs, pythons, cows, etc…) for different reasons. Whether because of religion, emotional attachment, tradition, cleanliness, or just plain preference, I don’t think we should look down on others for choosing to or choosing not to eat certain things.

    If someone came after my dog with a cleaver, however, you might hear me sound off like Savage. =)

  12. Mick says:

    Exactly Carina. People who equate members of the family such as pet dogs and cats with cattle are void of emotion and judgement. And may very well be from a basic society without a moral foundation.

  13. G says:

    speaking as a korean who has tried dog — and couldn’lt continue because i kept picturing myself petting one — i want to inform you guys about korea’s dog eating “culture”.

    i myself, am an american raised citizen. born in korea, i immigrated here at the age of 2 and have lived here ever since. on a trip back to my birth country, i had the opportunity — was sort of forced — to eat a soup made with dog meat.

    in korea, dog meat is a delicacy because it is lean, healthy and very expensive. dogs are NOT picked off the street to be eaten. they are FARMED much like cows here in the states. there is a specific type of dog that is eaten.

    to make a long story short, i took a bite — thought it was delicious by the way — and then put my spoon down because of my emotional attachment to dogs. eating dog is by no means similar to eating a human fetus or a rat (which aren’t famously regarded as pets) — though, i’m sure that if rats were found to be delicious, people might start (if they haven’t already) eating those. people eat squirrels out in the wild and rabbits too — both of which are rodents like the rat.

  14. Carina says:

    I just wanted to make it clear that I do not think that cultures who eat animals we in our Western culture (which is not the only great society out there… imagine that) consider pets are “void of emotion and judgement…” like Mick said.

    I agree with what G had to say. I wish people would be more respectful when it comes to culture and preference issues such as food and what we call food. Perhaps we should all be less judgmental and get all the facts before sounding off about cultures we don’t know much about.

  15. Laz says:

    Well said G.

    Mick,
    So basically what makes cats and dogs more valuable is the value we ascribe to them? It’s not necessarily about the specific animal right? Let’s face it, if someone here in America has pet cows, then by your rationale to that person all of us who eat beef (a “member of the family” to this individual) are devoid of emotion and judgment?

    Carina is right when she said,

    You’re asking for a reason outside emotional attachment, but I’m not sure if there is one.

    Mick, your responses have proven her point.

    We all know the value of emotion when making rational decisions…

  16. Mick says:

    I’m just testing the boundries. If you are starving, by all means eat a dog or cat.

    Cattle wouldn’t even exist if they were not raised to be processed for food and leather.
    Dogs are among the smartest animals on earth and have lived with mankind in their homes for all recorded time.

    Some Asian cultures have promoted dog meat as a delicacy. Maybe human flesh is delicious.

  17. Mick says:

    Another animal, the whale is still being harpooned and eaten by Japanese. It’s a delicacy, I’m told. But the are nearly extinct. What kind of morals are those. Eat it if it tastes good?

    A story by Michael Savage on the whale found with a 150 year old harpoon in it made him and many of his audience sick. That whale may have been 200 years old. Now it’s dead so that a decadent market can eat it’s flesh.

  18. Steve says:

    I’m still looking for the pooch recipes….

    I’d have no problem eating whale. There’s plenty of meat, and despite the alarmism there are plenty to go around. If you don’t like it, don’t eat them.

  19. Mick says:

    I don’t eat whale, too much fat content.

  20. Mick says:

    All who eat dogs should get a bull mastiff for a pet.

  21. michele says:

    Anyone that is cruel to these animals-should be punished. These are our pets, you love them and take care of them like your own child.

Leave a Reply

