Mexicorn

Normally, I don’t get all riled up by things that others might perceive as “offensive” especially when things are said regarding my nationality (Mexican).

Back in college I heard an American openly declare,

If my last name was ‘Sanchez’ I would have gotten a scholarship with my 700 on the SAT

The young man was part of a remedial program at the University of Texas, which I surmise is the only way to be enrolled at UT with that kind of score (Texas A&M well that’s another story). I hope he made it to graduation and learned a thing or two about misconceptions.

While I was surprised by his comment it didn’t really offend me at the time nor does it offend me now.

Generally I adopt a “sticks and stones” attitude towards this kind of thing but a recent grocery purchase got me thinking. Without further ado, I present:

mexicorn-15.jpg

“Mexicorn” is slang for “a person of Hispanic origin specifically Mexico”.

I wonder if the Jolly Green Giant knew this before he decided to share can space with the word?

Where’s LULAC when you need them?

2 Responses to Mexicorn

  1. Neil Aquino says:

    Maybe Green Giant donates to Lulac.

  2. Laz says:

    No doubt my friend, think about who is probably picking their produce…

Leave a Reply

