“I’ve done too many bad things to serve God”

Personally, I have heard this used as an excuse to not serve God. Pre-conversion I didn’t think of myself as that bad of a chap so naturally God’s forgiveness through Jesus Christ had little appeal.

Currently reading through Paul’s first letter to Timothy, his protege, and in Chapter 1 Paul says the following,

I thank Jesus Christ our Lord, who has strengthened me, because He considered me faithful, putting me into service, even though I was formerly a blasphemer and a persecutor and a violent aggressor. Yet I was shown mercy because I acted ignorantly in unbelief – 1 Timothy 1:13

Paul’s (Saul at that time) actions against the Church (and thus against Christ) are chronicled in the Book of Acts..

Paul’s transgression against God (“blasphemer”, thus violating the Greatest Commandment) and his neighbors (“persecutor” and “violent aggressor” violating the second Greatest Commandment) might seem to put him out of the reach of God’s grace, much less Paul’s usefulness to do God’s work.

This was not the case for the Apostle spread the Gospel throughout the Roman Empire and penned about half of the books of the New Testament. I like how commentator Matthew Henry explained it,

The greatness of sin is no bar to our acceptance with God, nor to our being employed for Him, if it be truly repented of.

2 Responses to “I’ve done too many bad things to serve God”

  1. Pingback: But I’ve Done Too Many Bad Things To Serve God! « Heal The Land With Spiritual Warfare

Leave a Reply

