St. Paul’s Dramatic Illustration

pachyderm-poo.jpg

“Yea doubtless, and I count all things but loss for the excellency of the knowledge of Christ Jesus my Lord:  for whom I have suffered the loss of all things, and do count them but dung, that I may win Christ”  — Philippians 3:8 (KJV)

Does it seem like we fervently believe this on Sundays only to push it to the recesses of the mind the rest of the week?

5 Responses to St. Paul’s Dramatic Illustration

  1. markrmorris2 says:

    Amen, along with Paul’s description of our righteousness as being like filthy (I have heard it expounded as menstrual)rags, but great image!

  2. Laz says:

    It’s difficult to view “all things” as what is pictured above but such is the call for self-denial which Christ asks, nay, demands.

    Yeah I think Isaiah (64:6)was referring to menstrual rags, at least that’s what some commentators will say. I might be preferable not to take shots of Isaiah’s illustration 🙂

  3. I don’t think I have ever seen something religious so graphically displayed.

    Interesting use of the photographic metaphor.

  4. 10th Way says:

    That’s a s*** picture.

  5. Laz says:

    10th Way, you are very perceptive, thank you for your comment

Leave a Reply

