On your marks, get set, Lent!

lent.jpg

Anyone doing Lent this year? If you are, what are you giving up?

2 Responses to On your marks, get set, Lent!

  1. jules says:

    I guess I’ll be the lone commenter on Lent. Born and raised Catholic, though not really “practicing” any particular religion at the moment (a believer without a cause??) I recently received a birthday card from my aunt. A Catholic nun for longer than I’ve been alive, my aunt was recently diagnosed with lymphoma.The doctors give her a 95% chance of remission. She is a wonderful, compassionate woman who has remained positive and calm through the ordeal, even as she faces a rigorous treatment of chemo and radiation. But I digress. Back to the birthday card. At the end of her note she wrote ” Do something good for Lent, something positive that will have lasting effects.” I was floored. I hadn’t even planned on “doing Lent” this year, much less something “positive” or “lasting.” Usually, I try (and fail) to give up drinking Coca Cola….So, not really understanding Lent, but determined to do right by her and the God that blessed us with her life, this year I plan to volunteer with the American Cancer Society. Right now, it’s a pretty vague plan, but as I stumble down the path I feel Him leading me, I pray something positve and lasting will come of it.

  2. Laz says:

    Sorry about your aunt, but I’m glad she’s taking it with calm and peace. We’ll keep her in our prayers.

    What a unique twist on this tradition. It is normally viewed as a fast from something (presumably mirroring Jesus’ fast in the desert, before His temptation) in order to prepare one for Resurrection Sunday.

    That being said, your aunt’s idea is found in the OT:

    For I delight in loyalty rather than sacrifice (Hosea 6:6)

    Jesus refers to this text in Matthew 9:13

    But go and learn what this means: “I desire compassion, and not sacrifice…”

    I think He’s saying (I guess Him being God He’s also saying it in Hosea) that instead of viewing service to Him as a sacrifice (a duty) let it come from a true devotion to God. In other words, don’t just abstain from something (passive) but go forth and do something (active).

    What a beautiful concept your aunt mirrored to you, faith and works beautifully intertwined. Of course this is the Christian life and not limited to a period of 40 days.

Leave a Reply

