When one is witnessed to…

Hit the local Babies “R” Us this past weekend with the missus and the wee one (They had a sale on bulk diapers).

As we stepped out of the car, a young man approached us. There he was, pamphlets in hand and wearing a beanie which had the following decal in “Mountain Dew” font: “What Would Jesus Do?”

The young man shared the Gospel with me and warned me of the consequences of rejecting Jesus Christ. For some odd reason he did not look at me in the eyes as he was telling me all of this. I thanked him for his effort and pointed him to the fish on the back of our car (you know that little piece of plastic which makes us more polite drivers). Judging by his (non)reaction, I don’t think he knew what the symbol represents. I meant to convey to him that he was preaching to the choir, for I accept what he was telling me.

He then proceeded to try to sell us a homemade WWJD keychain for $3. I politely declined but I did take one of his pamphlets.

Has anyone tried to witness to you, a follower of Christ?

15 Responses to When one is witnessed to…

  1. SurfaceEarth says:

    Bottom line, the man was a fraud?

  2. Laz says:

    Not sure if he was or not.

  3. SurfaceEarth says:

    Interesting either way. Didn’t know if there was an implication that he was selling something he may not have been fully educated about.

  4. Moe says:

    Yes, I once had someone stop me while I was practically running down the street because I was late for an appointment. He asked me if I’d received Jesus as my Lord and Savior, and I said that I had but was in a hurry. He took my frazzled state to mean I was lying and then set out trying to prove I wasn’t telling him the truth.

    Eventually, he asked in a smug voice, “Well, then where do you go to church?” He seemed positive he’d have proof now that I was just playing along with him (as if he thought going to church was the way to tell whether or not you’re really save). I said what church I was going to, and with a look of shock he informed me I was in fact a Christian, which was what I’d been telling him for the beginning.

    Since I wasn’t lying to him, he then asked me to pray for his witnessing that day if I thought about it, and I said I would. While I continued running down the street, now running very, I said a short prayer that the man wouldn’t be such a horrible witness to the other people he encountered that day. šŸ˜›

    ~Kelsey

  5. Bill says:

    It saddens me to say that no one has ever tried to witness to me except cults.

    It’s God’s will for us to get saved, then to be baptized, attend church, tithe, pray, worship, and share our faith, among other things. Why are so many Christians disobedient to the Great Commission? The majority of people in this world are spiritually dead, and on their way to eternity in hell. We apparently (I’m including myself on many occasions) are too scared to even open our mouths. After all, someone might call us a dirty name. It’s better to let them go to hell than to risk that kind of emberrassment.

    The most difficult person to witness to is someone who claims to be a Christian. I try to see if they even understand the gospel. Most “Christians” I talk to say they’re going to get to heaven because they’re good people. I can’t imagine someone being a Christian and thinking they’re going to get to heaven because they’re good. At that point I have to assume they’re not truly born-again, and I try my best to correct their understanding of the gospel.

    I don’t know what that kid’s deal was with trying to sell stuff. But, It’s much easier for us to critisize his efforts than to go out and do it ourselves. I admire his courage, and his concern for other people’s eternal soul.

  6. jasonk says:

    I was eating at a local restaurant one day, when I asked the waitress what her wrist band was all about. It said WWJD (they were new at the time). She was very enthused, and spent several minutes ignoring her other tables, sharing how Jesus had changed her life. I didn’t have the heart to tell her that I was a Christian, so I told her that her words really meant a lot to me, and that I would consider carefully what she told me. To this day, she probably believes that she led me to Christ. If she reads my blog, she might be tempted to say, “If not for that wristband, that guy would not be writing a Christian blog today.”

  7. SurfaceEarth says:

    Please feel free to delete this:

    Jesus was not full of judgment, for if he would, he could not have saved anyone, all efforts, futile, in the negativity he would have dispensed.

    We believe in Jesus, in his holy Mother, but believe his heart was ever expansive. Jesus would not save some and condemn others, in his infitnite wisdom, he would “save” all and teach them the everlasting attributes of universal kindness.

  8. Bill says:

    Surface Earth,

    Jesus said, “I am the way, the truth, and the life, no one comes to the Father except through me. (John 14:6) Unless you are born again you cannot enter the kingdom of heaven. (John 3:3) Unless you repent you will perish. (Luke 13:5)

    Second Thessalonians 1:7-9 says, “The Lord Jesus shall be revealed from heaven with His mighty angels in flaming fire, dealing out retribution to those who do not know God and to those who do not obey the gospel of our Lord Jesus. And these will pay the penalty of eternal destruction, away from the presence of the Lord and from the glory of His power.”

    It seems from these verses that Jesus is full of judgment, or will be someday. We can tell whether we’re going to be guilty by looking in the mirror of the Ten Commandments. Have you ever told a lie, stolen, looked at someone with lust, or taken God’s name in vain? If you’re honest with yourself you know you’re guilty of breaking God’s law. God is infinitely just, and he has to punish sin wherever it is found. You can take that punishment or you can let Jesus take that punishment for you. There’s nothing you can do to earn that gift, (such as going to a priest to confess); if you could earn it, it wouldn’t be a gift. You can accept it by repenting, and putting your faith in Jesus, and He’ll make you born-again.

    I know it sounds harsh, but I’m telling you because I care about where you spend eternity. You don’t have to believe me–in fact, don’t believe me. Go and read if for yourself in the Bible.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  9. SurfaceEarth says:

    Thank you for taking the time to write such a thoughtful reply. I am not in a position to advocate the rightness or wrongness as to the literal or interpreted meanings of the Bible. I do believe you have every right to believe as you believe. I also believe God is all merciful and just, created innately that way.

    All the best to you.

  10. Bill says:

    Surface Earth,

    I agree 100% that God is all merciful and just. His mercy is demonstrated through Jesus’ sacrifce. Every one who repents, and puts their faith in him will receive amazing mercy.

    Those who don’t will experience God’s justice. A good human judge would never let a guilty criminal go free. How much more will God, who is infinitely just, righteous and holy, make sure justice is served.

    The question then becomes, what about your sins? Are you sure your sins are forgiven? What about your lies, and your adultery? What about your blasphemy? I tell you this because I know that I deserve to go to hell. I’m sure you’re a better person than me, but the Bible is so clear about what will happen to those who die in their sins.

    Please read the Bible for yourself. Read it plainly and normally like you would read any book. Even if you just read the book of John, or even just John chapter 3. I beg you to please read it.

    Thanks,
    Bill

  11. SurfaceEarth says:

    “God will praise each one of them.”

    1 Corinthians 4:5

  12. SurfaceEarth says:

    Also, we do apologize. We should not have posted on the site knowing that we too are entrenched in our own religious upbringing and should have realized that it is your humanitarian duty to cause us to see things a different way.

    For that, we are sorry for causing that inconvenience to you. And again, we do thank you for the kindness of your posts and responses and wish you the very best.

  13. Laz says:

    Surface,
    Is that the only proof-text you have to support universalism?

    I recommend you follow Bill’s advice and read Jesus’ chat with Nicodemus (an intensely religious person) in the third chapter of John’s gospel and let me know what you think.

    Another text you might want to consider is Peter’s sermon at Pentecost (Acts 2:14-41).

    Of course, if one is set on universalism as a starting assumption (b/c of personal preference) no amount of texts will make one see otherwise.

  14. Victor says:

    Nobody has even witnessed to me either…sad to say, especially since there are so many people out there that claim to be Christian. Yet, the devil has done a good job in getting people to neglect the GREAT commission.

    I agree with a comment above also (by “Bill”) who said that the most difficult people to witness to are those who consider themselves Christian (although living jut like the world). That is evidence of the pearl being cast before the swine and them turning and getting us right back.

    Interesting post.
    -VG

  15. SurfaceEarth says:

    We will pray for you.

Leave a Reply

