“Do Christians do good out of selfish motives?”

A form of this question was posed to me some months ago. The selfish motive proposed by the inquisitor was “going to heaven”.

He asked if that’s why Christians were ‘good’ (whatever that means) only so they could go to heaven. Of course the question itself displays a misunderstanding of what following Christ (being a Christian) means. It’s not difficult to understand what following Christ entails, the difficult part is doing it daily.

Reminds me when someone triumphantly told me that they didn’t need the Bible to tell him what was right and wrong. I told him he was absolutely right, however the Bible tells us that we are incapable of doing what is right and the reason for that incapacity.

The reason I bring this up is because someone posed this post’s title to the folks over at Answers in Genesis and the answer was pretty comprehensive, I thought. Read on…

2 Responses to “Do Christians do good out of selfish motives?”

  1. Henry Frueh says:

    And that is one area that the Holy Spirit used in my life to seek Him. I surmised that if there was no God then all the morals were made by man. For instance the “do not steal” command was made by a man who wanted to stop people from stealing from him.

    But if there was a God, I wanted to know Him. That was the beginning of the journey that led me to a special night in March of 1975 sitting on Garret Mountain overlooking the Manhattan skyline. I asked Jesus if He was real and by His Spirit I believed on the Lord Jesus and was born again that very night. The reason I try and “behave” is because of Him, and if I had not become His follower I would have no conscience about my life whatsoever.

  2. freevolition says:

    I agree. Hodge’s answer was VERY comprehensive. Although I knew the answer as well, I could not have responded as eloquently as Hodge has done. Highly commendable!

    Nonbelievers and believers alike often ‘do good’ for selfish reasons; to assuage a guilt complex, to make one feel better about oneself, or to impress others, for example.

    Human good is but wood, hay and stubble.

Leave a Reply

