“Liberated” women, do not read this…

Hadn’t been to Townhall.com in a while and in a moment of inactivity I decided to see what’s cooking. I enjoy reading several of the columnists there, in fact I have 5 of them linked on this blog.

So there I am checking out the latest columns from the many writers and a column titled, “The girls of The View” caught my attention. The author, Mary Grabar, discusses the ABC product and makes some pretty startling statements (startling to our hypersensitive postmodern minds). Here is the opening paragraph:

After watching The View and following the inane statements made on the program, I’ve come to the conclusion that it really is true what Aristotle, Saint Paul, and John Milton said: Women, without male guidance, are illogical, frivolous, and incapable of making any decisions beyond what to make for dinner. (emphasis mine)

The egalitarians aren’t going to like this, the feminists will like it even less. Then there is this (btw, I’m not sure where Grabar was going with this one):

This was the danger of giving women the vote. The danger to conservatives (and the survival of this country) is the voting bloc of single women, i.e., those who lack the guidance of a man in the form of a husband or intellectual mentor.

Is Grabar crazy? If she really thinks this and can logically back it up is quite irrelevant. The emotionalism that this kind of statement produces will drown out any sort of intelligent discourse on the subject (for a similar allergic reaction tell an evolutionist that the earth is less than 10,000 years old and sit back and enjoy the vitriolic outburst). As we have stated here before, reason and clear thinking are usually the first casualties of emotionalism.

4 Responses to “Liberated” women, do not read this…

  1. freevolition says:

    Well, I read it so I suppose that means I’m not ‘liberated’. LOL Not in the worldly sense anyway, for Jesus has liberated me for eternity. I also followed the link provided (thank you) and found it quite interesting.

    Women are responders. I can say this and get away with it because I am one… a woman, that is. God made us that way.

  2. jasonk says:

    I’m not sure I get the point of your post. Help me. Do you agree with Grabar? Do you believe in ending women’s suffrage? I’m not being critical, just curious as to where you stand.

    I heard some guy on the radio a couple of years ago make an argument for repealing a woman’s right to vote. As a dad to three daughters, I took some offense to that. But his argument made sense. Women would almost never vote to go to war, because it is their instinct to protect their children. Any unseen threat would not be responded to appropriately. My wife actually does not vote, which used to irk me, but she explained it to me in a way that makes sense. She is not interested in politics in any way, so her vote would only mirror mine, or worse, would just be an uninformed, ignorant vote that would accomplish nothing positive. Fair enough.
    If a person really wanted to take away a woman’s right to vote, the answer is simple. Circulate a petition, and tell people that if they sign it, it will help to end women’s suffrage in the world. Most people are so out of touch, they would sign it without thinking.
    By the way, I want to clarify that I am NOT in favor of taking away a woman’s right to vote.

  3. Lazaro says:

    I’m not in favor of taking away a woman’s right to vote.

    Grabar might favor it. Her reasons for favoring it might not be heard (or given a forum) due to the emotionality of the topic.

  4. dipstick says:

    The impression I get is that Grabar is not in favor of depriving women of the right to vote. She is only pointing out the fact that women are generally quite different from men, and that we need to be aware of the political and social consequences of the differences now that there are so many politically-involved women around who have little or no direct masculine influence in their lives.

    In recent decades, the media and the universities have been so immersed in a feminist-inspired, anti-male point of view that we have largely abandoned any sense that we might once have had of the possible negative consequences of adopting feminine perspectives as they apply to politics. And those who speak out on the subject get hammered. After all, a feminine influence in politics has been so relentlessly advertised as an unmitigated Good Thing that you would have to be a pickup-driving, flag-waving redneck to question it.

    The feminist mantra–man/bad, woman/good–along with politically correct censoring of speech, has steadily seeped into American culture and politics, and now we need to take off the blinders and look at the emerging feminine political culture more critically. That’s the message I get from Grabar’s article.

Leave a Reply

