The truth behind Santa Claus

When I was in 10th grade, we were required to read “A Tale of Two Cities” by Charles Dickens in sophomore English. It seemed that the whole class enjoyed the book immensely. How do I know? Because when I gave away the ending (I’m a fast reader) during Ms. Heard’s World History class, I was threatened with violence.

Why do I bring this up? Because according to this story, an elementary school in the UK is in trouble for telling 10-year olds that Santa Claus (or Father Christmas) doesn’t exist. Well boo-hoo. I would think that a 10-year old should know that Santa is as real as an Ewok.

One of my favorite lines from the story comes courtesy of the school’s headmistress (principal?):

“The last thing we wanted to do was take away the positive and magical side of Christmas and I have wished all the families a happy time.”

Yeah because the old fat guy in the red suit is the only ‘positive’ and ‘magical’ (I guess) thing about Christmas, not to mention the reason we all get next Monday and Tuesday off…

I never believed in Santa Claus, maybe it had something do with the fact that the houses of my formative years didn’t have a fireplace. So I don’t get the fascination with the guy. I remember a couple of years ago when my wife and I were teaching Sunday school to 1st and 2nd graders, and one of the girls informed her classmates that Santa wasn’t real. This particular little girl is very bright and thought it her duty to enlighten her classmates. There was a near riot as supporters of Santa rose to his defense against the one heretic.

Is it immoral to inform other people’s children that there is no Santa Claus? Or is it unethical? Bad taste maybe?

3 Responses to The truth behind Santa Claus

  1. freevolition says:

    Immoral? No, not immoral. But it is butting into other people’s business. If God gave us the freedom to choose who or what we believe in, what gives us the audacity to think we should do otherwise?

  2. Lazaro says:

    yo free, what is up with your blog? it’s not there, when I try to go to it I see a blank page…

    butting in into other people’s business is immoral isn’t it?

  3. freevolition says:

    Howdy Lazaro. I deleted my blog entries, but wordpress does not delete memberships so there it remains in all its stark blankness. 🙂

    Immoral? Hmmm… well, I suppose the answer would be purely subjective. I don’t know about immoral, but it certainly is not appropriate.
    One of Webster’s definition of immoral:

    “not in conformity with accepted principles of right and wrong behavior”

    So what one person accepts as ‘accepted principles of right and wrong behavior’ may not align with another’s interpretation of what is right and wrong behavior. So the answer is yes… and no. 🙂

Leave a Reply

