A sense of loss

I have a problem. I thirst. I thirst for Scripture. There is always (it seems) before me this desire to always be studying and exploring God Revealed Word. I assume that all of my brothers and sisters have this problem, but I don’t know since I haven’t asked. Maybe it’s a rare condition.

I get this nagging feeling that I missed something after watching some ‘big event’ on TV. It’s more evident after spending hours and hours playing Civilization III.

A sense of loss that I get after other time-wasting endeavours I choose to partake in. Entertainment has its purpose and place but why does it seem like I waste time when I do these things? Not only that but why the sense that I could have spent that time in the Word?

It was especially evident last night after watching Michael Richards’ “must-see” apology on Letterman last night. I interrupted a study of Acts to catch the apology and perhaps paid the price because it wasn’t the same after I resumed.Anyone know what I’m talking about?

3 Responses to A sense of loss

  1. Coops says:

    Absolutely. I had to uninstall every game on my computer to stop getting carried away there.

    How you got a friend that keeps you accountable to having consistent times with God?

  2. diana says:

    Absolutely. I watched some movies last week and I felt this while the movies were on. And other things like shopping etc can do that to you. It’s an undeniable fact that nothing can please our hearts more than time with God in prayer and the word, but our flesh keeps trying to make us rebel. Entertainment is ok but when it wars against what the Spirit would have us do, we FEEL incomplete. The Spirit doesn’t lie… best for us when we don’t quench the spirit! I have a long way to go before I can say I’ve mastered the art of keeping things in their right time and place. Haha. Thanks for this post, it made me think and brought my situation out more clearly. Now I can pray for strength to fight it better đŸ™‚

    God bless you!
    Diana

  3. freevolition says:

    I definitely know what you are talking about. I wasted far too many years being caught up in cosmos diabolicus. Work, children, school events, meal preparation, dishes, laundry, homework, meetings, phone calls, TV shows, online forums, etc., etc., etc…

    I have been a member of several different churches due to the fact that we have moved so often (husband’s occupation), but it seemed that I always remained spiritually starved after church service no matter where we attended. I thirsted much like you’ve described. I finally came to the realization a couple of years ago that, in order for Bible doctrine to be a priority, I had to MAKE Bible doctrine a priority. Daily. My husband agreed. We discontinued satellite television service several years ago and committed ourselves to approximately an hour a day of Bible study/lessons/research together. Yes, there are times we miss a day or two of study, but when we do we try to make it up on the weekends as time permits.

    I can honestly say that we (my husband and I) have spiritually matured more in the past 2-1/2 years that we did in our entire lives prior to that. This doesn’t mean we never falter, and in no way is it intended to be a pat on our own backs, for we should have begun many, many years ago. At times I found myself regretting the time wasted, but then the more I advanced and learned the more I realized that all things happen in His time, not mine. Regrets and guilt are of Satan and the past cannot be undone. Yesterday is forever gone from me. But today and tomorrow and the days after that are another matter altogether.

Leave a Reply

