Books-a-Million

No this is not a plug to the popular bookstore, it’s what I have chosen to label my literary dilemma, if you will.

A bad habit, have I, to buy books left and right and take forever to read them. Here is a list of books which I have bought within the last 3 months (in some cases more) or so which I have yet to read:

The Four Loves by CS Lewis

Reflections on the Psalms by CS Lewis

Hard to Believe by John MacArthur

Desiring God by John Piper (bought today)

Bones of Contention by Marvin Lubenow

The Pilgrim’s Progress by John Bunyan

Heroes of the Faith: CS Lewis by Sam Wellman

Girl Meets God by Lauren Winner

The Divine Conquest by AW Tozer

The Joy of the Lord by Spurgeon

The Lie: Evolution by Ken Ham

Ten Lies about God by Erwin Lutzer

Paul: Apostle of God’s Glory in Christ, a Pauline Theology by Thomas Schreiner

Where to start? If anyone has read any of the above, input please…

Then there are the books I have read which I want to read again, that list is longer than the above.

3 Responses to Books-a-Million

  1. jasonk says:

    Well you can’t go wrong with C.S. Lewis. That’s where I would start.
    I’m also a huge fan of John MacArthur. I used to own Desiring God, and it was good, but I had a hard time getting through it. Too many polysyllabic words ;>)

  2. Lazaro says:

    I’m a big fan of CS, though I’m not in total agreement with some of his views.

    Yes I was told that Piper can be a wee bit hard to read, I’ll give it a shot.

    I decided to compartmentalize with some of these books. I spent about an hour last night with Winner’s “Girl meets God.” A very fast read by the way.

  3. jasonk says:

    I don’t know if there are things I disagree with from CS Lewis. If there were, I would not worry too much, it would be like me disagreeing with Barry Switzer or Jimmy Johnson on football. I can disagree all I want, but it won’t much matter ;>)

Leave a Reply

