Why didn’t I think of that?

thats-the-idea.jpg

Yep, this is what you think it is. It’s a little boy stuck inside one of those claw machines (hope it was worth it my man). As a matter of fact, on Tuesday I dropped a couple of bucks on one of these at the local mall. What glittering prize led me to waste good money on this venture? Nothing more and nothing less than a stuffed “Hook ’em Horns” hand. I was trying to replicate what happened one stormy night in a Dallas area Humperdink’s where I went 4 for 4 in this type of machine.

Well on Tuesday I couldn’t get the Hook ’em hand but now I know why. I didn’t think of crawling into the machine like this industrious lad did. Here’s to you, Mr. I-crawl-into-the claw machine-kid…

4 Responses to Why didn’t I think of that?

  1. Belinda says:

    go back to this post:

    Momentary Lapse of Reason
    Posted October 18, 2006 Comments(2)
    Besides being a title to a Pink Floyd album, it is what happened to former Soviet leader, Mikhail Gorbachev recently. A charismatic man who along with the Gipper did much to bring down the Berlin Wall, let’s not forget John Paul II as well.

    Growing up in the 80s (I say this because I grew up with the fear of Mutually Assured Destruction) I remember watching news and such and remembering Gorbie as one who ushered in change in the former Soviet Union.

    Well Mr. Gorbachev was in Texas recently and made the following observation:

    “‘You remember President Reagan standing in Berlin and saying, “This wall should be torn down,’” said the 1990 Nobel Peace Prize winner. ‘Now the United States seems to be building almost the Wall of China between itself and this other nation with which it has been associated for many decades and has had cooperation and interaction with.

    ‘I think what is really needed are ideas and proposals about how to improve that cooperation and work out all of those issues regarding immigration flows. I don’t think the U.S. is so weak and so much lacks confidence as not to be able to find a different solution.’”

    I’m not a historian nor do I play one on this blog but I’d be remiss if I didn’t point out to Gorbie that the Berlin Wall was built to keep people in and not to keep people out, as the US-Mexico wall is supposed to do. Nichevo Misha!

    People in the West (Europe and America) were not flocking in droves to join the wonderful worker paradises to the east of the Berlin Wall, unless they were rewarded handsomely for it for betraying their country and spying for the Soviets. People (my family included) are however flocking to the US to make a better life for themselves.

    Click here to read the article.

    ********************************************

    I’ve thought more about my “challenges” to why there was a wall . . . think about why the U.S. is talking about putting up a fence/wall along the Mexican border. Is it to keep the U.S. citizens in OR to keep the illegals out??

  2. jasonk says:

    I have an idea. Let’s just take over Mexico. Make it the 51st state! We can take vacations down there, establish college and pro sports teams, and tax the heck out of the area. Kind of like TEXAS!
    What Mexico needs right now is a good Davy Crockett type. By doing this, we will accomplish three things:
    1. We will save all the money from building that fence along the border.
    2. We will establish an entirely new tax base.
    3. We will have Cancun, Cozumel, and Cabo san Lucas as American backyard playgrounds!

    Here’s to a renewed sense of American imperialism!

  3. Lazaro says:

    Jason,
    As a Mexican, what you proposed insults me on some level I’m sure. HOWEVER, your idea has merit and I actually proposed it at another internet forum only to be smacked down by patriotic (the Mexican variety) zealots.

    After all it’s OK for Mexicans to feel the pulse of nationalism coarsing through their veins but heaven forbid that Americans do the same. Other than violating Mexico’s national sovereignity (an idea propagated by America no less) I don’t see a flaw in your proposal. It would definitely make Mexico a better place, of course that depends on what your definition of better is…

  4. jasonk says:

    Laz,
    Thank you for lending credence to my proposal. I am sorry that it offended you on some level. Obviously, it needs some work.
    Although I am not a Mexican (my grandfather came here from Norway), I have always felt a strong kinship with the Mexican people. Three times I have traveled there to do mission work, and I was a big hit. Blonde hair and fair skin make me quite the standout there. In all seriousness, I do have great fondness for the people of Mexico, some of the most genuine and selfless people I have ever encountered.
    The way I see it, the plan would work for two reasons:
    1. Most rank and file citizens seem to want to come to this country anyway. If we go down there and take over, they’re already here! No border guards, no fence climbing, no tunnel digging. And best of all, no ratty nasty border smugglers to pack 500 people into the back of a semi truck
    2. We already did it once! We call it Texas. You don’t see thousands of Texans swimming across the Red River seeking a better life in Oklahoma…okay…well maybe you do. So forget I ever brought it up. It’ll never work.

Leave a Reply

