Somewhat morbid thoughts about Baptism

Witnessed a wonderful sight this past Sunday at church. A family of 5 (4? don’t remember) was baptized into Christ during service. When I witness a baptism, inevitably I think back to my own immersion (that is what baptism means) back on May 4 2003. I think of the God honoring experience that it was and the joy I felt when I came up out of the water, like I had been reborn (imagine that).

On Sunday I thought something quite unlike anything I had thought before when witnessing a baptism. It was 5 people who were baptized and they were one after another, in fact the dad was baptized first by JP, then the dad proceeded to immerse his wife and kids. For some odd reason I thought, “Wow, this looks like an execution, one after another.” Before I could banish the morbid thought out of my head, I realized that is what baptism is in a sense. An execution. What a crazy thing to say but it’s true. Consider what the Apostle Paul wrote in his letters to the brothers in Rome and Colosse:

“Therefore we have been buried with Him through baptism into death, so that as Christ was raised from the dead through the glory of the Father, so we too might walk in newness of life.” (Romans 6:4)

“…having been buried with Him in baptism, in which you were also raised up with Him through faith in the working of God, who raised Him from the dead.” (Colossians 2:12)

One Response to Somewhat morbid thoughts about Baptism

  1. diana says:

    You wrote that well. I could picture your impression of the execution scene. And I see the connection.
    Keep going!
    Bless you
    Diana

Leave a Reply

