Forget the world, I can’t wait (for an answer)

Since receiving some ‘monastic’, albeit solid advice from Henry “Leave the politics to Satan” Frueh, I have tried my best to steer clear of politics and its practitioners but I couldn’t help myself this time.

Today October 5th was deemed (by an elite few) a worthy day to skip school, work, or whatever it is that Americans do. Why? To protest the theocratic, fascist, and criminal Bush Administration of course!!! This latest excuse to skip school/work is called:

“THE WORLD CAN’T WAIT, DRIVE OUT THE BUSH REGIME”

Don’t believe me? Click here to read the Manifesto in pdf format.

So you have all these good people who never grew out of their angst-ridden student years taking to the streets in order to enact some sort of change. The world would be a better place if it had more people who had nothing better to do than march in protest.

While my point of view differs somewhat with theirs, I acknowledge and respect their right to protest, peacefully of course. In reading their call to arms (legs, torsos, whatever) I ran across something of interest:

“History is full of examples where people who had right on their side fought against tremendous odds and were victorious.”

My simple question is, what is ‘right’? And who determines it? Are we to believe that this group has ‘right on their side’? According to whom? Isn’t this one gripe against Bush? That he arrogantly thinks he’s got ‘right on his side’?

Someone please help me work through this. I don’t know who to believe!!!

(How did Casey Kasem get wrapped up in this?)

Leave a Reply

