Denise outdoes Little Richard

Love the new Geico commercials featuring celebrities alongside real Geico customers (at least that’s what is claimed, truth-in-advertising is a paradox to me).  While the ageless Charo is entertaining with her coquettish Spanglish, and it’s quite nice to finally put a face to the voice behind movie trailers, my favorite one is the one featuring Little Richard. 

The highly charged Little Richard is superb in his performance but he doesn’t hold a candle to the ‘real life’ Geico customer sitting next to him.  This woman, Denise Bazik, steals the show, but not by what she does but by what she doesn’t do.  How does she keep herself from bursting out in unadulterated laughter?  Gotta hand it to you Denise, you’re a champ. 

Why isn’t she our Secretary of State?  I’m pretty sure Condi could not do what Mrs. Bazik did in that commercial.  This woman could give Mr. Spock poker-face lessons.  Because of her great skills Denise would have mopped the floor at the World Series of Poker.   

Can someone please explain how she did it?  I would like to believe that it only took one take, lie to me Denise, lie to me.  Denise if you’re out there please let me know!!!! Help me, somebody help me!      

36 Responses to Denise outdoes Little Richard

  1. wendy says:

    Denise Bazik is a real person. She and her husband are my best of friends. The accident really did happen. She filled out an online survey for customer service and then Geico contacted her.

  2. Lazaro says:

    Awesome Wendy!!! I’m dying to know how she kept a straight face with that clown sitting next to her, help me, somebody help me!!!

    How has she handled her newfound fame? It would be great if she could drop us a line here at lastrow

    much obliged,
    Lazaro

  3. Denise Bazik says:

    Dear Lazaro,

    Hello there! It’s me Denise Bazik “a real Geico customer”. Thank you so much for the compliments. I also need to thank my friend Wendy for finding your atricle.

    I wish I could lie to you and tell you that it only took a few takes, but it took about 7 hours. However I believe the one that they decided to air was in the first few hours. As far as keeping a straight face…I think because I did it so many times I just got used to it.

    Thanks again!
    Denise

  4. don cross says:

    Any nut could sit there…no big deal

  5. Laz says:

    I thought she did a great job Don. Whether anyone could have done it is neither here or there.

  6. Carmen says:

    The Denise Bazik commercial is one of my favorites. Little Richard is great and the way Denise looks at him in the last scene is hilarious. Denise, if you’re out there, great job!

  7. Wayne says:

    Yeah…that commercial is great. And Denise is a stone cold babe to boot! I hope it continues to get shown.

  8. Sedric says:

    i love the geico commercials and the little richard one is on the top of the list. Denise, u did a great job and i have a big crush on u. (i respect u Mr. Bazik, just announcing my crush—im happily married)

    Good job denise!!

  9. Sedric says:

    by the way Denise, what survey did u fill out? i’d like a chance to get on a geico commercial. im such a big fan, to be on one would be an experience of a lifetime for me.

  10. Rhinoman says:

    Don, I just want to say, dont hate on Denise. You probably dont use gieco anyway. Denise, I didn’t even know Little Richard was in the commercial with you till I read this article. Kudos to you.

  11. rob says:

    Great commercial. As a vp in marketing I could only hope to get such an interesting dichotomy of emotions and looks in one of my campaigns. Fantastik! :o)

  12. Goldy says:

    Wonderful, Wonderful, Wonderful!
    This is one of my best commericals. I love it and I loved both Denise and Richard. I wish someday you both make a movie together, smile.
    God Bless

  13. ms says:

    Denise Bazik is a sexy babe. Even Li’l Richard’s antics can’t take me away from that lovely woman.

  14. moses says:

    Denise Bazik is my hero !!

  15. Donald H says:

    I am not sure how I got to this webpage, but its funny because my brother and I was just talking about how Denise and Little Richard did a much more memorable job than the other like commercials. She really looks like the housewife next door. Beautiful and simple. And yes there is something sexy about her. Good job Denise. Would you be my neighbor?

  16. Mark says:

    It’s actually comedic genius. Denise looks at him as one would look at a lunatic. Perfect expression!

    Plus Denise is really cute. Too bad she’s married, I see. 😦

  17. --dave says:

    The extreme opposite demeanors of these two actors works to make them each mutually supportive of their opposite, while sitting so closely together. That contrast strengthens and amplifies them both individually, while there seems to be a thread of compatibility or mutual ground between them in spite of their drastic differences, including but going beyond gender, race, celebrity status, and even age.

    Whether accident or sheer genius in casting these two together, it is probably the highest impact commercial I’ve seen, due in great part to the frankly human, unpretentious Geico customer so tolerant and patient if perhaps a little concerned with hyper and expressive Little Richard in his stellar original antics and wild whooping.

    My limited acting experience in film and commercial has me aware of how tediously repetitive and boring the business can be, between the thrills and contact with stars. Denise Bazik’s furtive glance at her guest might be deadpan from endless takes or perhaps it is comedic genius with perfect timing and expression that so nicely complements Little’s bouncing off the walls, but it is the crescendo of a great little production and a great moment in both film and marketing. (Especially when she raises her eyebrows slightly for a split second, while LR is saying Whoooo!–it’s perfect.) She does also have pleasant facial features and especially beautiful eyes that remind me of a friend whose mother is Japanese and father, Caucasian.

  18. victor says:

    denise you are one sexy girl!

  19. Michael says:

    Denise is great in that commercial.
    I think she needs to do more commercials.
    Would be great to have an opportunity to meet her sometime!

  20. UrHOT! says:

    Denise,

    You are cute! 🙂

  21. Pete Varamitch says:

    Denise Bazik and all you ******** who submit yourselves to the GEICO commercials that continually piss off our entire nation, get real!! Wake up and smell the coffee you morons!!

  22. Laz says:

    Pete, such anger…

  23. Joe says:

    Denise is awesome… This is one of those few commericals that I never get tired of seeing… I laugh everytime… I’d love to see the outtakes… Geico wouldn’t insure my 5.0 back when… so I’m not a customer… but they run some great ads…

  24. topaz says:

    I thought Little Richard was hillarious in that commercial! And the man looks damn good for a 74 year old.

  25. Judy says:

    I don’t buy Denise as “not a paid actor” because I have seen her in a previous commercial which, I believe, was for a telephone provider. She looked over her shoulder and saw her husband dancing in his shorts in the background and gave the same deadpan look.

  26. Laz says:

    I don’t know Judy, I think you refer to a Vonage commercial.

    If memory serves me right, the woman of which you speak of isn’t Denise Bazik.

    Thanks for the input!

  27. Meryl says:

    Ms. Bazik? Is it you from Crestdale?

  28. Patrick says:

    Denise is a cutie pie.

  29. stacie and chelsea says:

    wow I did not know she was a real person so Chelsea and I decided to google her and this is what we came up with……sweetness

  30. Joe says:

    HOT! HOT! HOT!

    Denise Bazik is absolutely GORGEOUS! She’s an All-American girl, isn’t she? Holy Hotties, Batman!

  31. Karla j Miller{Kluciar} says:

    are u married to tommy bazik?

  32. So Cal Steve says:

    Denise your the bomb! The way you looked at Little Richard…funny as heck. Big fan now. Hope to see you more…like sid-com or something or something with Little Richard like Animated Movie…really really..
    Happily married Admirer.

  33. dan says:

    Hi, Guys. Just in response to the article, I used to work for Geico. The people featured in the celebrity ad’s are in fact real Geico customers. They were selected from an online customer satisfaction survey.

  34. Denise Bazik says:

    In resopnse to Karla J Miller (Kluciar) on April 22nd 2007…YES I am married to Tommy Bazik…we live in North Carolina.

  35. Denise Bazik says:

    WOW!!! I just got online to look up the latest GEICO commercials and how nice to read all of the comments about me!!!

    In response to Judy…I swear this was the first time I was ever on TV.

    In response to Meryl…Yes this is the Ms. Bazik from Crestdale. I now teach High School. Is this Meryl Stark?

    Has anyone seen the NEW celebrity/real person GEICO commercials? I saw one this morning with a different celebrity that wasn’t on before. They were sitting at the edge of a swimming pool with their feet in the water. I am guessing that they are doing another round of the celebrity/real person since it was such a big hit.

Leave a Reply

