Wal-Mart is changing

This has nothing to do with their first profit drop in a decade (Click here to read THAT story.)

You can log this post in the “Only in America” category (which WordPress does have). The local Wal-Mart, in my opinion, has stopped being the place to be. My wife and I choose to go to Target instead. I really can’t put my finger on the reason (it’s definitely not the anti-corporate streak living in many of my contemporaries.)

Maybe it has to do with the grizzled greeter who’d rather be anywhere but there and shows it by not greeting customers (it isn’t always like this, but they used to hire friendly folk to man the entrance for all shifts.) Perhaps it’s the sticky floors that lie beyond the skid-free carpets at the entrance. Why the floors are sticky is a total mystery to me, and it’s probably best that it remain that way.

No I got it, it’s the overcrowding. It has to be the fact that on the weekend, parking spots are as abundant as bikinis on an Iranian beach. It has to be the fact that the toiletries aisles have to be the most gridlocked pieces of real estate this side of the streets of Calcutta.

I don’t know, for me Target wins on the strength of having a Starbucks instead of a Vision Center…

2 Responses to Wal-Mart is changing

  1. rbrown says:

    not to mention, they treat their employees like s***!!

  2. Lazaro says:

    do they? are you a disgruntled employee?

Leave a Reply

