Romans 7 and Mel Gibson

I know it’s been a week since Mel was arrested and booked on DUI charges but bear with me. 

(On the soapbox) As an aside let me just say that the amount of media coverage this story has received is disproportionate to its significance to others which haven’t.  For example that Muslim man in Seattle who shot 6 women (killing 1) because they were Jewish has been buried by most of the media while Mel gets grilled for making Anti-Semitic slurs (btw Arabs are Semites too.)  The outrage by some media at the statements is hypocritical because for the most part the media paints Israel in a negative light while glorifying Arab terrorists as ‘freedom fighters’ among other terms. (off the soapbox)

Yesterday’s LA Times had an article on the unexpectedness of the Mel Gibson incident.  How it was unexpected by his friends and associates and yada-yada.  While I’m somewhat surprised by Mr. Gibson’s actions I’m not totally shocked.  The man has an addiction, and he gave in to the temptation of alcohol and got drunk and said some pretty rotten things.  It happens, whatever our addictions and areas of temptation are we rely on God and what He did for us through Jesus as our weapon against these things.  This much is obvious from what Paul said in Romans 7:21-25

“I find then the law that evil is present in me, the one who wants to do good.  For I joyfully concur with the law of God in the inner man, but I see a different law in the members of my body, waging war against the law of my mind and making me a prisoner of the law of sin which is in my members.  Wretched man that I am!  Who will set me free from the body of this death?  Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord!”

Paul dealt with things as is evident here, Mel Gibson deals with things (more publicly than most of us) but we should all be thankful that all would be lost were it not for our Lord Jesus.  As those who are in Christ we are not to fall into black despair when we fall for we know that all is forgiven, and we must be thankful for what the Lord has done.

Leave a Reply

