How can these things be?

Is there such a thing as a Christian who’s not born again? I presume that the knee-jerk response to this question is, “Of course there are, those born-again people are just one group of Christians.”

I have heard variants of this bold proclamation, bellowed in righteous indignation and said with the utmost serenity. How true is it though? Is there any substance behind the claim?

The answer is a resounding no (I realize that this day in age answers are to be avoided like the plague and any truth claims are to be steered clear from.) I must have some nerve to be able to make such a crazy statement, that no one is not a Christian if one is not born again.

We can all rest assured (myself most of all) that I’m not the one who came up with the crazy statement. A “Christian” is one who follows Christ, yes that fellow who claimed He was God Incarnate. Yep, the very same one who uttered the following words:

“Truly, truly, I say to you, unless one is born again he cannot see the kingdom of God.” –John 3:3.

By the way He told this to a man (Nicodemus) who was highly religious and very sincere in his religious devotion, proving that religiosity and sincerity have nothing to do (primarily) with entering the kingdom of God.

The issue it seems hinges on what the meaning of ‘born-again’ is, not on whether or not being ‘born-again’ is a choice in the matter of following Christ. I think Paul explained it better than I can:

“Therefore if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creature; the old things passed away; behold, new things have come.” —  2 Corinthians 5:17

 

So I’m with Nicodemus, I’m not sure ‘how these things can be’ but I accept them by faith in He who is the Truth, the Way, and the Life.

Leave a Reply

