Here’s to you Edith Hamilton…

For those of you who have no idea who this lady is, she's an author who only wrote one of the best compilations of Greek mythology, simply titled Mythology.

When I was a young pup I was fascinated and enthralled by Greek mythology. Hamilton's book was thorough in its presentation of the subject, she also had a brief section on Norse mythology which didn't attract me as much as Greek did.

From 6th grade on, I checked out this book and others over and over from the library. Sure I read other mythology books but this one captured my fancy the most. I continued to study this topic (independently) throughout 8th and 9th grades when the topic became part of the curriculum. Needless to say, I aced the mythology unit in freshman english because of my earlier studies.

I started reminiscing on this when I was naming the previous post, and thus I decided to talk about this.

Many of the myths are pretty interesting but I have my favorite, the 12 labors of Heracles (this is the Greek spelling, I favor it over the Latinized Hercules). Is anyone else interested in the topic? What are your favorite myths from the Greeks?

One Response to Here’s to you Edith Hamilton…

  1. kena says:

    i’m quite fond of Atlanta. If not for damned aphrodite, no man would have beat her in a foot-race. i
    Jason, however, not in my favor. Used Medea and tossed her aside when he was done. And Medea is the crazy one? Psh!

Leave a Reply

