Butterfly in the sky, I can fly twice as high…

Having just finished Professor Olasky’s book, “The Religions Next Door,” I now have a newfound appreciation for the man as an author. I enjoyed his columns (read his latest here) but now I can say that I thoroughly enjoyed one of his books. I recommend it to anyone who wishes to learn more about Judaism, Hinduism, Buddhism, Islam and their respective histories.

It saddened me greatly to learn of the ways that Jews have been mistreated throughout history, particularly by a Church claiming to be the One true church of Jesus the Christ (Himself born a Jew.) The question arose in my mind once more, “Why have the Jews been so hated throughout history?” More on this later…

It surprised me to learn of the violence done in the name of ‘peaceful and harmonious’ religions like Buddhism and Hinduism, which are portrayed as such wonderful systems that we’re all fools for not following them.

The book deals with the media’s clumsy mishandling of religious matters and I would have to agree with the Prof on that one. He explains it a lot better than I can possibly do it so check out the book. I did find out about another book, “The Universe Next Door” by James Sire which deals with worldviews and which I’m planning to acquire soon.

Now back to you Levar Burton…

Leave a Reply

