The age old topic

Yesterday I was engaged in a discussion at work regarding the Christian's disregard for the Old Testament.  What was alleged in not so many words was the following:  "How convenient that Christians treat the entire Bible as being the Word of God, yet they do not follow the myriad of regulations found in the book of Leviticus." 

Most Christians that I know (myself included) have at one point either asked themselves this question or faced the question from someone else.  Stating Paul's statement that we "are not under Law, but under grace" really does not suffice as an explanation when given to curious inquisitors. 

If someone is really curious (Christian or not) about the topic I'd refer them to Paul's treatise on the subject, also known as the book of Romans.  I wish I knew Greek because I could appreciate the legal undertone to his writing. 

That being said, I was leafing through "Mere Christianity" by CS Lewis and came across a very simple yet satisfactory explanation (at least to my way of thinking.)  Before I throw the quote out there, I want to set out a couple of statements.  A Christian is simply a follower of Christ.  A Christian chooses to believe in and believe what Jesus said in regard to Himself and His Father.  With this in mind, let me throw out the quote:

To trust Him means, of course, trying to do all that He says.  There would be no sense in saying you trusted a person if you would not take his advice.  Thus if you have really handed yourself over to Him, it must follow that you are trying to obey Him.

Jesus tells us that He came to fufill the Law (which we are 'accused' of not following) and that it's not what enters a man that makes him unclean (e.g. pork and other 'unclean' animals) but rather what comes out of his mouth that makes him unclean.

Jesus also said that the whole Law hangs on loving God with all your heart, soul, mind and strength and in loving your neighbor as yourself.  If He said that this is the whole scope of the Law and if I have entrusted my life to Him, then who am I to question Him on why I can eat pork or shellfish?  Or whether or not I can plant 2 types of seed in the same field?

Leave a Reply

